| Plan | × Professional ✓ Advanced (10) ✓ Scale (25) ✓ Enterprise (100+) |
How to share a calendar with non-users
|
Note Always be cautious when sharing links publicly since they stay active indefinitely unless an expiration date is defined or the calendar is deleted. |
1. Go to Calendar and on the upper right-hand of the page, click the Export/Share icon and click Share calendar.
2. Create a shared calendar link by defining the parameters:
Link details:
- Link title - name of the shared calendar
- Date From/To - date range of the scheduled posts that you want to show in the calendar
- Viewer can comment - allows viewers to leave comments when toggled on
Display Options:
- Timezone - the publish time of the published/scheduled posts in the shared calendar
- Language - the language the shared calendar displayed in
- Time format - choose between 12-hr or 24-hr format
- Week day starts on - shifts which day appears first in the calendar view (Monday or Sunday)
|
Note Write a specific name that will help you to locate and understand why the calendar was created |
Content filters:
- Post status - indicates whether the post has already been published, scheduled, in review, drafted, etc.
- Post authors - the team member who scheduled/published the post
- Post Labels - set which post labels are going to be shown in the calendar
Show more filters:
- Exclude labels - set which labels you want to exclude from the view
- Content type - set which type of post (link, text, image, video) is going to be shown in the calendar
- Queue labels - set the queue labels that you want to be shown in the calendar
- Boost status - set whether you want to show boosted/not boosted posts in the calendar
- Advocacy - set yes or no for posts that are part os the advocacy program
- Evergreen - set Added or Not added for Evergreen posts
- Show posts not scheduled in Vista Social - allows viewers to see native posts when toggled on
- Show 'In review' posts regardless of workflow stage - regardless of the workflow stage, show all posts in the "In review" status
Access and Delivery
- Expiration date (optional) - you may set an end date on the accessibility of the shared calendar
- Link password (optional) - you may set a password so it will only be viewed by anyone who has the password
- Auto delete once expired (optional) - automatically deletes the shared calendar link once it reaches its expiration date
- Recipient email addresses - Up to 5 recipients. Use comma, space, or new line to separate emails.
Customize email:
- Subject (optional) - email subject
- Body (optional) - email body
Important Be careful when enabling Auto delete once expired. Once the link expires, it will be permanently deleted and cannot be retrieved. If you still need access to the calendar or its approval history after that point, you'll need to create a new shared calendar link. |
|
Note Your shared calendar (external) comments will remain separate from your internal team comments, ensuring only the right eyes see the right feedback. |
Click Save once you are done.
3. The shareable link will be generated for you to copy - send it to anyone who needs to view the calendar!
4. The shared calendar will have two view options: List view and Calendar view.
5. Viewers can filter the shared calendar by post status and social profile by clicking on the filter widget at the top right.
6. Post count is also visible in the shared calendar, meaning viewers will see how many posts are in the calendar per post status.
7. Viewers reviewing posts will be able to approve or reject posts in review and leave a note with it. We'll just ask for their name/email so you can track who reviewed the post. Click here to learn how to enable post approvals in your shared calendar!
Managing Shared Calendar links
1. To manage your shared links, click Share on the Calendar page.
|
Note The following option will depend on your access privileges. Admin users have more access and visibility |
2. Here you will see all Active and Expired links that you have created, and especially the number of links (important to keep it in focus as this number is regarding the amount in your account):
3. You may edit each link, copy it (to share it again to someone else), copy the password, or completely remove it from your list.
4. You have the freedom to edit every aspect of the already created shared calendar, including the profiles and all the permissions.
Adding notes visible to viewers (external comments)
Post discussions are an essential part of ensuring a common understanding, gaining diverse insights, improving communication, and fostering teamwork with your team members, clients, or partners.
Learn how to collaborate on posts through post comments here!
There are two types of notes that you can add to posts:
-
Internal Comments: These are private comments that only your team members can see. Use internal comments for team discussions, planning, and feedback. This keeps all sensitive and internal information secure within your team.
-
External Comments: These comments are visible to users outside of your team, such as clients or partners. External comments are perfect for gathering feedback from clients or collaborating with partners. Viewers can only see these comments (internal comments are not visible).
To add external notes visible to your shared calendar viewers, just click on the post you want to add a note to, then click on the comment bubble at the top right.
It will open up the post comments panel from the right side. Click on External comment and add your note.
Leaving external notes (viewer's end)
When the viewer clicks on the comment bubble of a post in the shared calendar, they'll see your external comment and will be able to add their own comments ('viewers can comment' option must be enabled).
When leaving a note, they will be asked to leave their personal information (name and email address).
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Does my shared calendar link limit also affect the number of people I can share it to?
A: No. The limit only applies to the number of shared calendar links you can create, not how many people you can share them with.
You can send the same link to as many users as you want. Your plan’s limit only applies to how many unique links you can generate.
Q: Can my team members edit or view the shared calendars I've created?
A: Shared calendars can only be modified by the creator of the calendar. Your team will not be able to see it on their list of active shared calendars, but they can view it if you share the link itself with them.
Q: If I turn on Auto delete once expired, can I get the link back after it expires?
A: No. Once the link expires with this setting on, it's permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. You'll need to create a new shared calendar link if you still need to share the calendar.
Q: Can Shared Calendars be managed through the API or MCP?
A: Yes. Shared Calendar management is also available through the Vista Social API and MCP integrations.
Need further help?
If you have any questions or need additional help, feel free to contact our awesome support team. We are here to assist you! 💙
Related Reading:
Creating, managing, and approving draft posts
Sign up now and try Vista Social for 14 days, free!